

Alberta Chess Association PO Box 11839 Main Edmonton Alberta T5J 3K9

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

October 8th, 2023 at the Edmonton Chess Club and via Zoom @ 3:30 p.m.

(1) Call to Order and introduction of Officers – President

Attendance

8 Board members present:

Rafael Arruebarrena (President)
Michael Ludwig (Secretary)
Dale Haessel (Treasurer)
Jim Daniluk (Vice-President)
David Ludwig
Nicholas Zacharias
Lars Lowther
Cristian Ivanescu

16 general members in attendance.

Rafael introduced the board members and outlined the meeting procedures.

(2) Minutes of the last AGM

It was moved by Lars, seconded by Jim, to accept the minutes of the 2022 AGM. Motion passed 16 in favour, 2 abstentions.

(3) President's Address – President

Rafael spoke on his four years as President, noting the challenges the COVID has presented. Successful events this year included the Canadian Open and Canadian Youth Championship, which he was pleased the ACA was able to support. Rafael noted we held most of our regular tournaments, excepting the Edmonton International. He thanked everyone who supported him during his term, including the previous and current Secretary, junior chess organizers, and all of the ACA's tournament directors. He will not be seeking another term.

(4) Financial Report and Statement – Treasurer

Dale outlined the planned deficit of the fiscal year, and showed the ACA's current financial situation. Nicholas moved to accept the financial statements, seconded by Jim. Motion passed 15 in favour, 3 abstentions.

(5) Election of Officers and Directors

Jim nominates Lars as President. (Accepts) Rafael nominates Steve Sklenka as President. (Accepts)

Lars and Steve both speak on their experience and involvement in Alberta chess.

President – Lars is elected by 18 votes to 6.

David nominates Dale as Treasurer. (Accepts)

Treasurer – Dale by acclamation.

Dale nominates Sean Wu as Director. (Accepts)
Michael nominates Terry Seehagen as Director. (Accepts)
Jim nominates Sam Hoekman as Director. (Accepts)
Dale nominates Steve as Director. (Declines)
Lars nominates Lili Ou as Director. (Accepts)
Dale nominates Zeeshan Munir as Director. (Accepts)

Director (2023-24) – Lili Ou volunteers for the one year term. Directors (2023-25) – Terry Seehagen, Samuel Hoekman, Sean Wu, and Zeeshan Munir by acclamation.

(6) Other items

i) Nicholas moves, seconded by Lars, to add the Calgary International to the ACA calendar in December. Motion passes unanimously.

Nicholas moves, seconded by Sam, to move \$2500 that was unused on the Edmonton International to the Calgary International. Jim offers a friendly amendment to add savings from cancelled events to the contribution, then withdraws on information that minimal, if any, money was saved. Motion passes unanimously.

- ii) A potential bid for the 2024 North American Junior to be in Calgary will be discussed at the Planning Meeting.
- iii) Terry has brought up the difficulty of accepting e-transfer payments for tournaments in Edmonton. A suggestion was made that the Edmonton Chess Club Treasurer speak to his counterpart in Calgary about setting up an account to receive e-transfers. The CJCC also commented that they take credit cards, which is helpful for them.

(7) Adjournment – It was moved by Michael, seconded by Lars, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion passed 13 in favour, 1 abstention.

At 4:33 p.m., the meeting was adjourned.